pro ana/mia buddy… intriguing…

Lately, I’ve been exploring the idea of a pro ana/mia buddy. Someone I can actually talk to about my shit. And I think I’ve found that person. Meg (last name unknown) seems amazing. She’s had an eating disorder for almost ten years, so she definitely knows what she’s talking about! We can relate on so many levels, she’s shared so many of the same experiences as I have.

A pro ana/mia buddy is a chance for me to have someone to write to other then this blog. I can share things with her that I can’t even share on here. I barely know her, yet we know more about each other then our friends (in my case, anyway). Like me she self-harms, has been suicidal, loves yet hates her eating disorder, has been diagnosed with depression and anxiety, has been hospitalized a few times, is a vegetarian (vegan, to be specific- awesome, huh?), loves the Harry Potter series, loves the show Dexter, loves animals and struggles with binge eating and an overbearing mum.

We’ve emailed back and forth, getting to know each other, and I think she’s going to be the perfect ‘buddy’. This is what she wrote in her reply to my original post on a pro ana/mia site looking for a buddy:

Hey Hayley – I assume your name is Hayley anyway because of your email? haha oh well. I might be a little too old for you but I don’t mind – I’ve just turned 18 (2 months) and I am also looking for a ED buddy. I don’t need motivation so much as I need a friend who understand what it’s like to have an eating disorder. I just feel so lonely. I’m a super good motivator though so I can help YOU with that 🙂 

But seriously i am sooooo lonely and it’s getting to me so much at the moment. It’s making my binging and purging worse because I feel so empty and hollow inside and I want to stuff myself with food to cure that hollowness. 

I would be so grateful if we could help each other out. 

She’s perfect.

Friends

One thought on “pro ana/mia buddy… intriguing…

questions or comments? Click here to leave them!

