This Will Never Happen To Me…

The classic human response- we hear about something happening and think “this will never happen to me”. Not many people truly believe that they’ll get cancer, but 1 in 2 people will be diagnosed with cancer by the age of 85, and it is the leading cause of death in Australia. Scary odds, but people almost always think- that’s not going to happen to me.

Same with car accidents. Car accidents happen to strangers, and people on the news. The truth is, in the next 24 hours, 4,800 Australians are going to be involved in a car accident, 550 will be injured and 4 people will die. That’s 4 dead people, every 24 hours! 

This denial, I think, helps us humans cope with life. Without it, we would probably forever be terrified of what was going to happen next. 

I knew the risks when I first stuck my fingers down my throat, but I was convinced that nothing would ever happen to me. I was convinced that I would be fine. I wasn’t. I was admitted into the hospital in very real danger that I could die. 

Maybe the fact that I didn’t  die, that there were no visible long term effects, that I now think, even more then before, that I’m untouchable. Invincible. That purging and starving myself won’t kill me, won’t hurt me. 

Image

questions or comments? Click here to leave them!

